Crystal Creek

Finally we did a real weekend day trip!! So pumped.

A lot of people have raved about Crystal Creek, and after going, it’s obvious why. We went to Little Crystal Creek because apparently is heaps better than Big Crystal Creek. Anyways, Candice, Kate, Micaela and I drove an hour or so North towards Pallouma rainforest area. Molly was supposed to come with us, but she hurt herself the night before and couldn’t come 😦

We got there around noon and the place was crawling with families and groups of mates spending a perfect arvo in the shade of the creek. I can’t even describe how beautiful it was. Bushes blending with gigantic rocks overlooking rushing water and waterfalls. We crossed over the major rocks and found a nice spot to set down our towels and the Subway we brought for lunch. Micaela and Candice relaxed while Kate and I immediately found our way down through the rocks to the water. The whole place is set up like a jungle where you have to completely climb up and over and down and around everything to get through the natural paths. I was sufficiently sore the next day from stretching out all my muscles climbing rocks. The water was so cold. If only the beach had water that clear and cold! It felt so good when you were under the hot sun. However, most of the creekbeds were shaded by all the trees and pants that you couldn’t feel the heat ( even though it was sitll 90+ degrees).

Little Crystal Creek
Little Crystal Creek

Little Crystal Creek

Little Crystal Creek

Little Crystal Creek

Kate and I made our way from the farthest top to the bottom before stopping to eat our Subway. Candice and Micaela joined us then and we all swam around and climbed along the rocks. A group of guys were jumping off this large rock, so we decided, what the hell, let’s do it too. It was so much more terrifying when you were standing on the ledge. But after a few minutes of coaxing, all four of us did it! The probably 15ft jump let you down into a little pool of cold water.

Little Crystal Creek
We jumped off the ledge by the ferns on the right!!

Amazed at ourselves we proudly watched as the rest of the guys did flips and jumped backwards and were insane. We lounged around for a while longer and tired from the sun and all the climbing, we drove back to Townsville. I’m so glad we got to do this. It was so so so fun and perfectly relaxing. We’ll HAVE to go back real soon and bring everyone!!

After such a nice weekend is not such a nice week. My cell bio midterm is tuesday, lab report and abstract due tuesday as well. The lab report I have no idea what I’m doing, the abstract just takes some time. And after much studying for the midterm, I think I was as prepared as possible. Standby for the results!! This week’s reading for Lit is Charlotte’s Web…so that’s a good relief 🙂

6 days until I leave for Melbourne and Sydney!! I’m so pumped to have a change in scenery, but I’m already missing all my mates here!! I’m excited to see the fam though. I’ll probably be wearing long sleeves (60s and 70s are COLD) and my family will be getting sunburnt!! HAHA Can’t wait!!

 

❤ love you all ❤

Leave a comment