Beach Bums

Hi mates ❤

Sorry it’s been a little while, I’ve actually had some studies to do, believe it or not!!

Last Monday, Kate and I spent the day at the Beach. She decided that she’d like to walk to the Strand and see how it goes and see how long it takes. So she left around 7am and two and a half hours later she was in town!! I took the bike and met her there. I showed her Two Brothers Cafe where we had a great brekky and I got to chat with Wil and Bec again. Love them! We walked down the street to the Strand and found that the first swimming area was closed…like the stinger nets were lifted and there was no swimming area. This was strange. So we walked down to the far end of the Strand, to the other swimming area by the rock pool. We immediately got in the water, it was SO refreshing. Actually wavy and cold. We played catch with a tennis ball with these two weird old guys. One kept going on about this weird tree oil he found that protects from the stingers. Like okay dude…you try that out, I’ll stay within the safe stinger nets!

We laid out on the beach for hours until we were completely dehydrated and….yes, burnt to a crisp. Mine was especially bad. Of course my dumbass didn’t put any sunscreen on so I know it’s my fault. It was wishful thinking okay!! From the neck to my ankles my backside was completely red. I had an obvious tan line from my swimsuit tie on my back. Phewwwww I’m still peeling a week later. Anyways, we were thirsty so we head into the Fish Inn, a restaurant overlooking the rock pool. It’s actually pretty fairly priced food, but we each got a beer for $8 instead. We sat at this little bar area overlooking a window out to see the rock pool and Maggie Island. It was the most picturesque scene. Kate always says she thinks she’s in a movie 🙂 We sat there for maybe an hour and a half just people watching and enjoying the perfect sea breeze. We both agreed that we’re wasting this experience if we don’t do this every Monday. We moved out to the grass around the rock pool for one last sun-soaking session. I chilled mostly in the shade this time, already regretting the burn.

Ross River BikeWay
Ross River BikeWay
The Townsville Brewery
The Townsville Brewery
Drinks at the Rock Pool
Drinks at the Rock Pool
the rock pool
the rock pool
Ross River
Ross River

Kate took the bus back, feeling the pain after walking so far. And I biked back. Later that night I played soccer again. We are still undefeated!! Yay! The next day we decided to make a lighter group dinner, Chicken Noodle Soup. Kate used her mom’s recipe and it was SCRUMPTIOUS!! We haven’t quite been keeping up with MKR anymore. There’s not enough drama! Everyone likes each other…that’s no fun. So we get the highlights the next day from everyone else who watches it. Kate also made like a fruit tart for dessert that was equally as good!

Chicken Noodle Soup night
Chicken Noodle Soup night

Fruit Tart dessert

Fruit Tart dessert

Fruit Tart dessert
Fruit Tart dessert

Leave a comment